Van Gisbergen wins in the Wet

Fellow Kiwi driver Shane Van Gisbergen wins the Final V8 Supercars at Homebush in Sydney.

Van Gisbergen took the lead only seconds before the race was suspended 41 laps into the 74-lap feature race when Garth Tander spun out on turn nine while leading.

After several laps under safety car, the race was abandoned with van Gisbergen taking his fifth victory of the season. The win saw the New Zealander leapfrog Mark Winterbottom into second on the drivers' standings.

"It's too dangerous mate; we all want to race, but ... it's scary out there," van Gisbergen said before the race was eventually called off for the second straight day.

Jamie Whincup finished fourth in the race and cemented his place as the most successful driver in Australian touring car history with a record sixth title in seven years. The Holden star wrapped up the 2014 series at Phillip Island last month, but had to wait until after the season's final race yesterday to officially be crowned champion.

His historic achievement, however, was overshadowed by a wild storm that lashed Sydney Olympic Park and forced the 74-lap feature to be abandoned just before 7.30pm (NZT). A safety car was called in 41 laps into the race, as cars started to slide across the street circuit and dangerously close to concrete barriers. Red flags were eventually waived with 29 laps remaining.

Whincup now stands alone as the winner of most titles in the 54-year history of Australian touring car/V8 Supercars championships. He surpasses greats Mark Skaife, Dick Johnson and the late Ian Geoghegan, who all collected five trophies.

He also equals Geoghegan's record for most successive championships with four.
Ford star Winterbottom, who led the series for several rounds earlier in the year, finishes the year third on the drivers' standings after his 19th-place yesterday.

Volvo sensation Scott McLaughlin started the race from pole position after a blistering qualifying lap couldn't continue that form in the feature race finishing eighth. The Kiwi was fastest in yesterday's Top 10 shootout and ended the year tied with Whincup for most poles this season - 10, scoring a bonus A$10,000 ($10,800) for the feat.

- AAP, NZ Herald